World News

Which EU politicians refused to see Russia as a state sponsor of terrorism?

Many on the far right and some on the left rejected the symbolic move to declare Moscow a terrorist regime.

The European Parliament adopted a resolution on Wednesday declare Russia State “terrorist supporters” over the war in Ukraine.

The European Parliament said, “The deliberate attacks and atrocities by the Russian military and its proxies against civilians in Ukraine, the destruction of civilian infrastructure and other serious violations of international and humanitarian law constitute acts of terrorism and war.” constitutes a crime.”

In total, 494 members of the European Parliament (MEPS) voted in favor of the resolution, 58 against it and 44 abstained.

of mostly symbolic Unlike the United States, the European Union does not have a legal framework to designate countries, so the move is unlikely to have any impact.Across the Atlantic, the US list includes North Korea, Syria, Cuba and Iran. is included.

The EU created terrorists in 2001 following the September 11th attacks in New York.

This includes people, groups and entities and is reviewed at least every 6 months.

ISIL (ISIS) and al-Qaeda armed groups are among the groups currently on the list.

Which members voted against the resolution?

Russia is the first country declared a state sponsor of terrorism by the European Parliament.

However, a large portion of the parliamentary right-wing bloc opposes links between Russia and terrorism, and members were not unanimous in the vote.

Twenty-six members of the far-right Identity and Democracy party voted against designating Russia a state sponsor of terrorism.

INTERACTIVE- European Parliament votes to designate Russia a terrorist state

Here are the voting results by country, party of origin and member:

All of these French politicians who voted against the resolution are members of the National Assembly or the National Assembly headed by Marine Le Pen.

  • Mathilde Andrew
  • Jordan Bardella
  • Aurelia Venue
  • Dominique Bilde
  • Annika Bruna
  • Patricia Shannon
  • Marie Dorsey
  • Jean-Paul Garreau
  • catherine grisset
  • Jean-Francois Jark
  • French jamet
  • Virginie Jolon
  • Jean Lin Lacapel
  • Jill Lebreton
  • Thierry Mariani
  • Philip Olivier
  • Andre Rouge

All of the German politicians below who voted against the resolution are members of the far-right Alternative for Germany or Alternative Fur German Party (AfD).

  • Christine Anderson
  • Gunnar Beck
  • Nicholas Fest
  • Maximilian Clar
  • Joachim Kues
  • Guido Lail
  • Bernhard Jimnyuk

Czech parliamentarians who are members of the Populist Freedom and Direct Democracy Party or Svoboda a Psima Democracy:

One member of the center-right European Conservative Reform Group voted against the resolution.

  • Emmanouil Fragkos, whose Greek party is the Greek Solution, or Elliniki Lusi-Greek Solution.

Twelve members of the center-left Social Democratic Progressive Alliance voted against the resolution.

From Bulgaria – all with the center-left Bulgarian Socialist Party:

  • Ivo Hristov
  • Cvetelina Penkova
  • Sergei Stanishev
  • Petar Vitanov
  • Elena Yoncheva

From Germany – all with the German Social Democrats or the German Social Democratic Party (SPD), the political party of Chancellor Olaf Scholz:

  • Joachim Schuster
  • Dietmar Kester

From Italy – These three politicians belong to the Democratic Party or Democratic Party.

  • Pietro Bartolo
  • Andrea Cozzolino
  • Massimiliano Sumerio

From Slovakia:

  • Monika Beňová (SMER-Sociálna democracy, or Direction – Slovak Social Democracy)
  • Robert Hajšel (independent)

Ten members of the European Parliament’s left-wing group voted against the resolution.

From Belgium:

  • Marc Botenga (Belgian Labor Party or Belgian Workers’ Party – Marxist Party)

From Cyprus:

  • Niyazi Kizilyürek (Workers Progressive Party – Left – New Faction)

From Czech Republic:

  • Kateřina Konečná (Komunistická strana Čech a Moravy or Communist Party of Bohemia and Moravia)

From Germany (DIE LINKE. Party, or Left Party):

  • Ozlem Demirel
  • Martin Sildewan

From Portugal (Partido Comunista Português, or Portuguese Communist Party – Marxist-Leninist Group)

  • Sandra Pereira
  • Joao Pimenta Lopez

From Ireland (independent 4 changes):

From Spain:

  • Miguel Urban Crespo (Anticapitalista)

Nine MEPs, who do not belong to any political party, also voted against the resolution.

  • Nicolas Bay (France – Reconquête!, or Reconquest – Nationalist Party)
  • Francesca Donato (Italy – now independent but formerly in the far-right Lega Nord, or Northern League led by Matteo Salvini)
  • Marcel De Graaff (Netherlands – Forum voor Democratie, or Forum for Democracy, a right-wing populist party)
  • Lefteris Nikolaou-Alavanos (Greece – Greek Communist Party)
  • Kostas Papadakis (Greece – Greek Communist Party)
  • Miroslav Radačovský (Slovakia – Patriot of Slovakia, right-wing political party)
  • Milan Uhrík (Slovakia – Hnutie Republika or Republic – Far Right Party)
  • Martin Sonneborn (Germany – Die Partei or The Party)
  • Tatjana Ždanoka (Latvia – Latvijas Krievu savienija, or Latvian Russian Federation supported by Russians and other Russian-speaking minorities)

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button