Latest News

Roads empty as voters travel to polling stations | The Guardian Nigeria News – Nigeria and World News

* Meet 11 governors seeking re-election

This is another gubernatorial and state legislative election in Nigeria, with governors elected in 28 of the federal 36 states this year and lower house elections in 36 federal states.

Ekiti, Osun, Bayelsa, Kogi, Ondo, Imo, Anambra, and Edo are states without gubernatorial elections.

Eleven governors in 28 states are on the ballot.

Oyo Governor Sayi Makinde is calling for the re-election of 15 members, including MP Akinware Tayo and APC Senator Teslim Foralin.

AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq of Kwara State is also seeking re-election on the APC platform. He is in dispute with PDP MP Abdullahi Yaman, MP Abubakar Kabir and 11 others.

Adamawa Governor Ahmadu Fintiri of the PDP is seeking re-election for another term. The governor is in the race alongside his 14 other candidates, including APC candidate Senator Aisha Tudahil, better known as Binani, and Labor Party (LP) Mustafa Madawaki.

In Lagos State Governor Babajide Sanwo Oru is seeking re-election on the floor of the All-Progressive Party parliament, but Labor Party member Gabadevo Rhodes Bivar has given the incumbent the LP method for his money. There is concern that he will run for In the presidential election he defeated the APC. Orazide Adedilan of the largest opposition party, the People’s Democratic Party, is also a strong candidate for the coveted seat. About 6.21 million voters with permanent voter cards are expected to decide the state’s next governor.

Borno state governor Babagana Zuram is also on the ballot for re-election. Contending on the platform APC, his Zulum is racing alongside 11 of him, including PDP’s Mohammed Jajari and his LP’s Goni Abdullahi.

Governor Mai Mara Buni of Yobe state is also seeking re-election. He is in the race alongside 10 of his other contenders, including PDP’s Shariff Abdullahi and his NNPP’s Umar Garba.

In Nasarawa, APC Governor Abdullahi Sule is in dispute with 13 others.

In Bauchi State, PDP Governor Bala Mohammed is seeking re-election. The governor is in the race against his 13 other candidates, including Senator Khalil Zika of the New Nigerian People’s Party (NNPP) and his APC candidate Air Marshal Sadiq Abubakar.

Gombe Governor Muhammad Inuwa is seeking re-election on the APC platform. Inuwa will slug it out in the polls alongside his 13 other voters, including PDP’s Muhammed Barde and his MP’s Amuga Esau.

Governor of Zamfara province, Bero Matawale, is at odds with PDP’s Dawda Lawal, MP’s Ahmed Yafuza and 11 others.

Governor Dapo Abiodun’s bid for a second term is contested by 12 candidates, including PDP’s Ladi Adebutu, who is not new to the game, and Biyi Otegbeye of the African Congress of Democracies (ADC).

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button