PSL: Lahore retain title after beating Multan by one point in thrilling final

Lahore Qalandars clinched back-to-back Pakistan Super League titles by defeating Multan Sultans by just one run in Saturday’s thrilling final.

Multan needed four runs from the last ball bowled by Zaman Khan, so Kusdir Shah was out while attempting the third run that would have tied Lahore’s aggregate 200-6. rice field.

Instead, Multan finished 199-8 and saw them again lose to Lahore in a repeat of last year’s final. The Qalanders are the first title-holding team in PSL history.

Captain Shaheen Shah Afridi was influential throughout, earning Player of the Year honors after breaking five sixes and two boundaries in a belligerent 44 knots out that stole just 15 balls at the end of Lahore’s innings. Earned match honors. They put up four wickets in the final over and finished with figures of 4-51.

Shaheen’s first effort with the bat helped give Lahore what just proved to be the game-winning score. After running 4 wickets for 17 runs, they reeled in 111-4.

However, Shaheen and Abdullah Shafiq, who locked the innings impressively on 65 of 40 balls, stole a staggering 85 runs in the final five overs to take Lahore up to 200.

In response, Lily Rosou (52 of 32) struck a fine of 50 to keep Multan above the required run rate. ) moment and the constant stream of wickets made things more difficult for Sultan – Afghan leg spinner Rashid Khan chipped in for his 2-26.

That was until Kushdir (12-25) and Abbas Afridi (6-17 no) beat fast bowler Harris Rauch by 22 runs in the penultimate over, needing 13 from the last six balls. .

However, Zaman and Lahore eventually kept the tension in front of 25,000 fans to give the home side the win.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button